Absence and Presence

How do we interact with the objects around us? How do they dictate the way we interact with them? What is our relationship to these objects?  I was thinking of these questions when I produced this work Absence and Presence: The Couch.

To explore this interaction I filmed myself reading a book on the couch. I then traced this movement on to paper, deliberately leaving the film running and the end of the film to record my absence. I found it very interesting that in the process you can actually see my presence reflected on my back as I traced my presence; a reflection of myself.

Here is a link to the film. 

The Couch

I record my presence and its relationship to the space in which it inhabits.

I record my presence by converting it into a moving picture.

I translate this presence by tracing my movement.

I record my absence.

Leave a Reply

