Placed in a drawer

If you have been following this blog for a while you have noticed that one of the recurring themes in my art is the ideas of memory and heritage. I have been extremely fortunate to have had a number of good photographers in my extended family who have documented family life over many decades. These photos tell stories about life: life in different eras, of immigration and change, adaptation and survival, generosity and love. In this series I have taken some of these family photos, translated them into vinyl relief blocks and printed into wooden drawers. Drawers are often places where we store both the special and mundane. A place where we can preserve both the past and the present.

As most of these pieces are from personal photos I always find it interesting that people from outside my family also enjoy them. I have slowly come to realise that although these family stories are unique, they are also universal.

Leave a Reply

