Have a closer look

Recently, during one of my art classes we were asked to explore our personal identity and the subcultures or cultures that we identify with. It was an interesting exercise. When I actually thought about it a lot of the affiliations I have and the activities I like to do all revolve around discovery and learning. For me this then leads to creating. Science is a subculture that I have been a part of for over a decade and influence on me has been quite substantial. It was fun to start thinking of ways to portray these ideas of discovery using the tools of scientific investigation.

I decided to work with microscope slides because they are easily identifiable, even for non-scientists. I approached the first piece like a scientist. I took a sewing pattern piece, cut it up and attached it to the slides. I love how visually interesting it became once I started moving the the slides around. The second piece is more personal. I found a childhood photo of myself looking into a garden pond with my mother. I realised that this summed up a lot of these concepts of learning, and revealed I have been doing these things from the very beginning.

…….and yes, there are so many other fun things to try with these slides. I’m sure it’ll keep me occupied for a little while.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Wendy Austin says:

    I really love this . Great idea.

  2. Pieter Stok says:

    Girl you are brilliant! Love the concept.

Leave a Reply

